2018 NCEMA Awards

Our NCEMA Awards Committee Chairman Jordan Rink and the entire Awards Committee worked diligently to review recommendation packages and select recipients of the 2018 North Carolina Emergency Management Association Annual Awards; which were presented at the close of Tuesday evening’s Awards Banquet by Scott Garner (our Association’s outgoing President).  The award recipients were:

  • The James F. Buffalo Award was presented to presented to Pat Gentry (Durham County Department of Public Health) for her outstanding support and leadership to emergency management agencies.
  • The Vance E. Kee Award was presented to Teresa Smith (New Hanover County Emergency Management for her outstanding achievement in her local Emergency Management program through promoting Emergency Management among other County and State agencies and elected officials, Emergency Management.
  • The Colonel William A. Thompson Award was presented to Jimmie Ramsey (Area 14 Coordinator, Western Branch Office of the North Carolina Division of Emergency Management) for his outstanding achievement in assisting Local Emergency Management Coordinators with programs, incidents, and information.
  • The Colonel Phillip Nichlos Waters Award was presented to Russell Greene (Alexander County Emergency Services) for his outstanding achievement in his local Emergency Management program and has contributed to the overall good and advancement of the Emergency Management System in the State.

To learn more about the NCEMA Awards Program go to https://www.ncema.net/awards