NCEMA Annual Awards Nomination Time Is Here

The NCEMA Awards Committee requests all Association members submit nominations for potential 2023 North Carolina Emergency Management Association award nominees and to gather the required support documentation from supervisors, peers, and others.  The nomination packages should be emailed (with supporting letters/documentation) to be received no later than August 31st, 2023.  Attached is detailed information on the awards program, the nomination requirements for the below annual NCEMA awards and contact information:


  • The James F. Buffalo Award is presented to a person or group who has exhibited outstanding support and leadership in or to emergency management in North Carolina. This support was accomplished through programs or assistance that has enhanced the emergency management profession.
  • The Colonel William A. Thompson Award is presented to a North Carolina Division of Emergency Management employee who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in assisting Emergency Management programs, incidents, and information. This person has demonstrated their willingness to not only assist with programs but is also committed to the excellence of those programs.
  • The Colonel Phillip Nichlos Waters Award is presented to the local government emergency management leader who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in their emergency management program and has contributed to the overall good and advancement of emergency management in the State.
  • The Vance E. Kee Award is presented to a local government emergency management professional who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in their emergency management program, through promoting emergency management among local and State agencies and elected officials.


The Committee will be evaluating nominees in the following areas relative to the award they are nominated:

  • Professional Achievements
  • Professional Awards
  • Certifications
  • Contributions to the Profession
  • Endorsements


If you have any questions concerning the awards nomination process; visit or you can contact the committee at .